ICD-10 codes

Beginning October 1, 2013, the new ICD-10 system will be required, and it will replace the current ICD-9-CM (International Classification of Diseases, 9th Revision, Clinical Modification) Volumes 1, 2, and 3 used to report health care diagnoses, disorders, and inpatient hospital procedures. The new ICD-10 will include the ICD-10-CM (clinical modification) for diagnosis codes and the ICD-10-PCS (procedure coding system) for inpatient hospital procedures. ASHA is doing a lot to prepare members for this transition and has prepared a web page on the ASHA website that contains current information. Here is the link: http://www.asha.org/Practice/reimbursement/coding/ICD-10/.

The codes in ICD-10 are not valid for any purpose or use in the United States until October 1, 2013.

 On this page:

Also, what ASHA is doing is covered in this paragraph from the web page:

How is ASHA Going to Help Me Get Ready?

ASHA is preparing a comparison chart (or crosswalk) of ICD-9 to ICD-10 codes used by audiologists and speech-language pathologists. The new classification system provides significant changes and ASHA will assist members as they make the transition. Critical information will be posted here on this Web page and/or relayed through various communication vehicles, including The ASHA Leader. Members may also contact ASHA with specific questions regarding the transition at reimbursement@asha.org or 800-498-2071.


Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: